Seek the Kingdom of God First…Everything Will Come After

matthew 6 33

These words came from Jesus as part of His sermon on the mount. He began in Chapter 5 teaching His disciples and the multitude about a number of things: from fasting, to dealing with enemies and dealing with the stress and worries of today.
Before Jesus tells everyone to seek the kingdom of God first, He reassures them that there is no need to worry about anything; what to eat, drink nor wear. He reassures us that God takes care of the birds and we are more valuable than the birds, so He will take care of us:
Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? – Matthew 6:26
What is that thing that you are overly concerned about today?
God is telling you to let go of the worry and stress. Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and everything will be added unto you. The NIV tells you and all these things will be given unto you. Take your mind off the things today and focus on God who is more than able, for with our Mighty God, nothing shall be impossible.
What do we consider to be God’s kingdom?
First of all, the kingdom is the place where the King dwells and our King dwells in Heaven – We are therefore called to keep our eyes on heaven. Colossians 3:2 confirms this:
Set your mind on things of above, not on earthly things.
Secondly, Romans 14:17 tells us that the Kingdom of God is not eating and drinking, but it is righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Ghost – We are therefore called to keep focused on these three great things: Righteousness, Peace and Joy in the Holy Ghost.
Seek these things first and God will take care of You. He doesn’t want you to be stressed and worried because He already has your back. The burdens belong to Him not us. He is MIGHTY and STRONG enough to carry these burdens and stresses of today.
Seek the Kingdom of God First…Everything Will Come After
 
TODAY’S PRAYER
Father forgive me for entertaining worry about the things which you have already taken care of. Father many times I have worried about things and I recognise today that you are telling me that once I take care of Your business and focus on the Kingdom things, You will take care of me. I recognise that you want change in my life and I accept that change today. I want to totally depend on You. Father have Your way in me. In the name of Jesus of Nazareth I declare Your righteousness, peace and joy in my life and I am assured through your Holy Spirit’s power that I will be kept focused on You. Thank you for answering my prayers. In the name of Jesus. Amen
Leave a Reply

