FREELY YOU HAVE RECEIVED…SO FREELY GIVE

matt 10 - 5-8

 
5 These twelve Jesus sent out with the following instructions: “Do not go among the Gentiles or enter any town of the Samaritans. 6 Go rather to the lost sheep of Israel. 7 As you go, proclaim this message: ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’ 8 Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy,[a] drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give. (Matthew 10:5-8)
In the beginning of Matthew 10, Jesus named His twelve disciples and in verse 5 after doing this He gives them specific instructions.
First of all he tells them not to go amongst the Gentiles and not to enter any Samaritan town, but rather He told them to:
  1. Go to the lost sheep of Israel
  2. Proclaim the message: The kingdom of heaven has come near
  3. Heal the sick
  4. Raise the dead
  5. Cleanse those who have leprosy
  6. Drive out demons
At the end of His instructions Jesus said to them: Freely you have received; freely give.
This command from Jesus in verse 8 is very profound. After telling the disciples what they should do, He seals these six commands with  a greater command which I see as a declaration.  He says to them that these are some tasks that have to be done and can definitely be done since they have freely received the power from Him to do these things and with that as a reality, they must freely share that power with the world, without fear and limitations.
Similarly as Christians we have bee given this very same power. Remember the Word which says in John 14: 12:
Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they  will do even greater things than these…
Jesus has already given us the power through Him to do all these things which He commanded His disciples then. These commands do not change for us as disciples of today.
This is your opportunity to answer the following questions:
Have you been doing the things which the Lord commands you to do as His disciples?
Do you freely share God’s power which is in you?
Are you too scared to respond to the Lord’s commands?
What else have God given you that you have not been freely giving to others who may to even may not be in need? (Consider the material things which you have received from Hm)
What talents, skills and gifts have God given you that you have refused to share and use for His glory?
Have you sought to win the lost?
Do you proclaim the message of God’s kingdom being near?
Do you seek the heal the sick?
Have you raised the dead (spiritually or even physically?
How many diseases have you cleansed by laying hands and praying?
Have your driven out demons/evil spirits from those oppressed, suppressed or even possessed?
Remember the GREAT COMMISSION in Mathew 28:16-20:
16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”
FREELY YOU HAVE RECEIVED…SO FREELY GIVE
TODAY’S PRAYER
 
Heavenly Father, I thank you for Your Word. I thank You for enlightening me with there truths of Your Word. I confess that there are times when I have failed to do what You have called me to do as disciple and I want to say that I am sorry. Thank You for Your forgiving mercy. I thank You for change and for the presence of mind to consider and act on all that You have placed in me; the free power and ability for which I have paid no price. I want to be able to do greater things for You. Freely You  have given to me and I have received your power. I need the power of Your Holy Spirit to help me do all that you have commanded. Teach me, show me, guide me along the path of to obey Your commands and to operate in Your strength, Give me what it takes to boldly and effectively give what I have received from You, in the mighty name of Jesus all things I ask, AMEN.
Leave a Reply

